Calloway Monument Company is a family owned business which has been in operation since 1944. The company is located at 1707 West Main Street in Murray, Kentucky. The original log cabin is still standing and is now the main office for Jennifer Morris, owner and daughter of the late Jim Smothers.
The log cabin above was built in 1931. It was built with chestnut logs and brought to the present sight by wagon from Whiskey Ridge, Ill. It was first used as a service station for a few years and then was a hamburger and barbeque place operated by Charles Robertson. The building next to the log cabin is the original Culley Steele Store which came from Kentucky Lake in 1943 before the lake was raised.
The store was purchased by Vester Orr and Cletus McClain then placed at the present location. The business then became known as Calloway Monument Company in the spring of 1944.
Jim Smothers started working for the company in 1947. He continued working for the company and became the owner in the mid 1970's. Mr. Smothers continued his tenure at the company until his death in 1998 at which time his daughter became the owner.
Many advances have been made in the monument business since it's beginning in 1944. A modern computer system offers unique and individualized layouts for a variety of personal preferences. Also on site sandblasting equipment adds to the individual choices of style and needs. Recently hand etchings have been added ad a choice for many monument designs.